The Arts Council Awards 2016 Scholarships

The Salisbury Wicomico Arts Council proudly announces their 2016/2017 scholarship winners. The Herbert D. Brent Arts Scholarship Recipients are: Jeffrey Todd, Vocalist attending Salisbury University, and Dominique Ramsey, Visual Artist from James M. Bennett High School. The Paul S. Hyde Scholarship Recipients are Jeremiah Copeland, Vocalist from James M. Bennett High School, and Dylan Gregg, Vocalist attending Boston University. SWAC’s Choice Blooming Artist Scholarship Recipients are: Alexander Vennos, Pianist attending Salisbury University, and Gabrielle Franks, Vocalist from Mardela High School. The Douglas I. Smith Scholarship Recipients are: Molly Sahler, Dancer from Bennett Middle School, Laura Adams, Flutist from James M. Bennett High School, Jonathan Adams, Clarinetist from James M. Bennett High School, and Christopher Sajadi, Instrumentalist from James M. Bennett High School.

The Salisbury Wicomico Arts Council’s annual scholarship competition is open to Wicomico County residents who are students age 16 or under, high school seniors or current college freshmen, sophomores or juniors who will major or minor in the arts. The Arts Council received four applicants this year for the Douglas I. Smith Scholarship, nine applicants for the Herbert D. Brent Scholarship and seven applicants for the Paul S. Hyde Scholarship. A panel made up of 12 local artists, educators and community leaders reviewed the artwork or a performance from each applicant. The 10 students named above were selected out of this talented group of applicants for scholarship awards of varying amounts.

The SWAC Scholars performed or presented and were honored at SWAC’s Annual Membership Meeting and Social, Let’s Do Great Lunch Arts! on Tuesday, June 14, 2016 at Salisbury University’s Great Hall. The meeting was open to the public where lunch, entertainment and Arts awareness was observed.

The Herbert D. Brent Arts Scholarship Fund was established by the Salisbury Wicomico Arts Council in 1982 in memory of local arts patron Herbert D. Brent. The Paul S. Hyde Arts Scholarship Fund was bequeathed to the Arts Council in 1997 by the former educator and SWAC member. The Douglas I. Smith Scholarship Fund was created in 2010 in memory of its namesake to encourage and reward students to pursue the Arts who show artistic potential and are age 16 or under. SWAC’s Choice Blooming Artist Fund was established in 2014 to award worthy talents of high school seniors or university freshmen, sophomores or juniors. Fiscal management of funds is handled by the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore, and the scholarships are awarded annually by SWAC.

For more information on the Salisbury Wicomico Arts Council, its scholarships or events call 410-543-2787 or visit

Comments are closed.