SU Seeks Community Leader Nominations

Inspiring classroom mentors. Those bravely fighting life-ending diseases. Humanitarians helping to feed the hungry. And others unable to be pigeonholed — simply known as “community heroes.” Ordinary people doing extraordinary things on the Delmarva Peninsula are making lives better for others every day … and Salisbury University wants to hear about them!

SU’s Town-Gown Council is accepting nominations for its 2016 President’s Distinguished Community Leadership Awards. Awards are presented in two categories: organization and individual. Winners will be recognized during SU’s Spring Commencement on Thursday, May 19.

Past individual winners include former Maryland Secretary of Agriculture Lewis Riley, breast cancer support advocate Sue Revelle, Henry Hanna III, Peninsula Regional Medical Center President and CEO Peggy Naleppa, Dr. Carolyn Stegman, Deborah Abbott, Dr. George Whitehead, Marty Neat and Lee Whaley.

Past organizational winners are the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore; Women Supporting Women; MAC, Inc.; the United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore; Dove Pointe; Habitat for Humanity of Wicomico County; the Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce; Lower Shore Enterprises, Inc.; and the Richard A. Henson Foundation, Inc.

Last year’s recipients — former educator and elected official Tony Sarbanes for the individual award and Coastal Hospice and Palliative Care for the organizational honor — are good examples of the types of people and groups we want to spotlight.

Individuals and organizations in Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset and Dorchester counties in Maryland; Accomack and Northampton counties in Virginia; and Sussex County in Delaware are eligible for the award. Nomination forms are available online at

Nomination forms and two letters of support should be sent to me at Robby Sheehan, SU Town-Gown Council Chair, Salisbury University, 1101 Camden Ave., Salisbury, MD 21801, or e-mailed to Gina Boobar, executive administrative assistant, at The deadline for nominations is 5 p.m. Friday, April 1. Please call 410-548-3316 with any questions.

The University looks forward to again thanking those who have been remarkably generous to this community and celebrating them as exemplars of civic behavior for our students. It is our privilege to honor the deserving individuals and organizations that help make our area a better place.

Comments are closed.