United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore Announces 2015-2016 Board of Directors

The United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore is pleased to welcome a new Board of Directors. The board has a one year term, ending on June, 30 2016. With 34 active members from organizations across the Lower Shore Counties, United Way is poised to begin the 2015-2016 campaign season with new leadership.

Along with new board members, United Way has appointed a new board President, Cathie Thomas, Membership Director for the Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce. A Salisbury resident since 1984 with a background in small business services, Cathie has spent a great deal of time supporting local non-profits over the past 30 years. She has been involved with PRMC Junior Auxiliary Board, Jaycee Women, Trinity United Methodist Church Altar Guild, Junior Achievement, Salisbury Junior Service League, and Hope with Support, having served as president of four of these organizations.   Cathie shared, “I believe that in supporting your community, you are building a better place for all to live.”

United Way is proud to have a truly dedicated Board of Directors representing Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset and Dorchester Counties. The Board actively works to ensure the organization operates in the most efficient manner possible to meet the diverse human needs on the Lower Eastern Shore. Board members are proven leaders in the community, and also exhibit leadership in governing the local United Way.

Cathie Thomas2

2015-2016 United Way Board:

Mrs. Cathie Thomas, Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce, Board President

Mr. Bruce Bright, Ayres, Jenkins, Gordy & Almand

Mr. Pete Bugas, Interstate Container

Mrs. Kim Conway-Dumpson, University of Maryland Eastern Shore*

Dr. Memo Diriker, BEACON at Salisbury University

Mrs. Jennifer Doyle, Civic Leader

Mr. Mark Dudick, Jubilant Cadista Pharmaceuticals

Dr. Mark Edney, Peninsula Urology Associates

Mr. Jeff Eichelberger, Sherwin Williams

Mr. Roy Geiser, TGM Group*

Mr. Jim Hartstein, The Insurance Market

Mr. Michael James, The Carousel Hotel*

Mrs. Jennifer Layton, Layton’s Chance Winery*

Mr. Gus Lebois, Perdue Farms

Mr. Steve Marshall, Somerset County Commissioners

Mrs. Mary Mengason, Avery Hall Insurance Group*

Mrs. Cortney Monar, Somerset County Board of Education*

Mr. Allen Nelson, Civic Leader

Mr. Rick Nelson, Nelson’s Nationwide Insurance

Mrs. Kate Oliviero, Civic Leader

Mrs. Susan Parker, Delmarva Media Group*

Mrs. Jan Perdue, Civic Leader

Mr. Scott Phillips, Peninsula Regional Medical Center

Ms. Beth Reid, Healogics*

Mr. Jesse Reid, Wicomico Board of Education*

Mrs. Ginny Reid-Matern, Civic Leader

Mrs. Laura Rodriguez, PNC Bank*

Mr. Tony Rodriguez, Safran Labinal Power Systems

Mr. Dana Seiler, Vantage Point Solutions Group*

Mrs. Joy Strand, McCready Foundation, Inc. *

Mrs. Connie Strott, Law Firm of George G. Strott, Jr.

Mr. Vince Tolbert, Worcester County Board of Education

Ms. Annette Wallace, Worcester County Board of Education*

(* indicates a new board term)


About United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore:

Now in its 71st year, United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore continues to be the largest non-governmental source of funding for 62 critical programs in Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset and Dorchester Counties. United Way helps Eastern Shore residents obtain Educational Success by reducing the achievement gap between low and middle income students, Income Stability by advancing the economic security of families and individuals in our community, and Good Health by improving access to and awareness of local health and wellness services. In the 2014-2015 campaign year, United Way provided nearly $1.3 million to community programs and helped to change the lives of over 75,000 individuals. For more information, visit www.unitedway4us.org.

Comments are closed.